Saturday Trip with the Family

What can one say about Lambertville, NJ.  If you have never been there, picture a small town with narrow streets that are lines with shop after shop creating what would be a perfect afternoon out if you could actually find a place to park.  Lambertville is across the Delaware River from New Hope, PA.  The exact same type of town except more shops, more people and less parking.

Image

So when I discovered that there was a bead store located in Lambertville, I was excited to go check it out.  What I didn’t expect was that my DH would have any interest at all in joining me.  Not that I mind him tagging along, but since looking through shops especially bead stores, and that DS would be tagging along too, meant that I would have approximately 5 minutes in the store before the “are we done yets” come out.

Lambertville is about a half hour from where we live.  We left right before lunch so we were really looking for somewhere to eat as soon as we got there.  Fate was with us and after circling twice, we actually found a parking spot right in front of Lambertville Station restaurant and a few shops down from the store we came to see.  Streets have metered parking so I was disappointed when this one didn’t work.  Hoping that there is some internal sensor that traffic enforcement could prove we paid, I put the money in the meter and we were off.

I won’t mention the store name, but after a short discussion with the owner that I was surprised that she wasn’t listed under beads, craft, or anything else that one could find the store, she replied with how long they had been in business so they were such a secret as I made them sound.  I won’t be going back.  Almost walked out without what I had chosen, but my neighbor’s birthday party was that night, and I still had to make the necklace/earrings that I was going to give her, so we pressed on.  Love the attitude in small towns!

So on to the best part (if you could call it that): LUNCH!

As we went to the store first, we were really hungry now.  Deciding that Lambertville Station was right there, and we had heard good things, we decided to try it out.  An absolutely gorgeous autumn day, we opted to sit outside.

This place definitely has beautiful fall views!

Image

Image

DH and I decided to start with soup.  It just seemed fitting to the day.  DS…well…not quite into that.

I had the french onion soup and DH the lobster and crab chowder.

Image

The french onion soup was interesting.  The soup itself was very light in color for a beef based broth.  I think that it was either a vegetable or chicken stock as the base.  It didn’t have that deep flavor that a beef broth/stock would have.  It was okay.  It didn’t have any depth and wasn’t as satisfying as this soup should be.

Image

The bisque was also just okay.  It did have an entire claw of lobster in the soup.  Nice touch.  But missing something…sherry maybe?  The crackers were okay as well.

I was excited for lunch.  I ordered their specialty burger.  It is billed as:

“24 day dry aged chuck, brisket and short ribs ground together to create a perfect burger; coupled with house, smoked Swiss and grilled apples”

Image

So I was really surprised when it was dry.  Really dry.  And overcooked.  I ordered med-rare and it was well.  The fries were half over cooked and half undercooked and the burger like the soups was one note.  It needed more acid than these apples in their semi-cooked state could provide.  Cheddar would have been a better selection to top this burger and a sauce of some kind.  Dry, boring and one-note.  😦

DH had the fish and chips and DS the kids burger.  Both meals were okay, but just that.

ImageImage

DS wanted to go next door for ice cream, DH is a sucker for creme brulee, so we had to order since it was on the menu.

Image

Although cooked to perfection, smooth and creamy with a perfect sugar crust, it was like eating a stick of butter it was so thick.

I went next door for ice cream with DS…

The perfect ending to the night was the b-day party for our neighbor.  Sitting around the fire with good friends sharing a drink has to be the best way to spend a beautiful fall day.

And I can’t leave before showing what the day of so-sos got me:

Image

Bolder opal, silk and argentium silver; worth it?  Leave me a comment.

~ by vet1999 on November 11, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
