The Art Bead Scene November Challenge

On this Black Friday morning, I want to take a minute to say thank you to all of the men and women who spent Thanksgiving working to support and defend our country.  We cannot thank you enough.

The November challenge for Art Bead Scene was this painting by Paul Cézanne, titled: Basket of Apples.  You can read more about the painting here.  Click the photo for the original post with the color blocking at Art Bead Scene.

Image

It was an interesting painting for me to interpret.  It didn’t really speak to me.  The positioning of the fruit and the color pallet however, I love.  Something about the off balance of the table and the fruit, the tilt to the wine bottle and how neatly the cookies are stacked in the corner gives the looker a sense of off balance.  I am unnerved as I look at the painting.  Like I want to reach out to catch the fruit.  So how does that translate…well for me not literally.  Here is the final piece…

Image

I liked the idea of a slightly off kilter piece with the feeling of free fall.  These were hollow polymer clay beads that I constructed using a mokume gane technique and a flower background stamp.  The bicone bead was a mixture of the clay used in the layers of the other 2 beads.  Here is a close-up.

IMG_3245

Hope you enjoy!  Come back on Monday for the Treasures Found 4th Annual Challenge of Color Blog Hop.

Hope everyone in the US had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  I am so thankful for so many things and none so much as my family and friends.  You all are a close 3rd!  Have a wonderful weekend!

Check out the other awesome entries at Art Bead Scene.

~ by vet1999 on November 29, 2013.

2 Responses to “The Art Bead Scene November Challenge”

  1. Wow! So cool! I love the way you interpreted the movement of this painting. That is fun! Thank you so much for joining in the challenge this month! Enjoy the day. Erin

Leave a Reply

 
