4th Annual Challenge of Color: Reveal

Erin at “Treasures Found” on November 4th issued the 4th annual Challenge of Color.  This year we could choose a preexisting color palate from Colorlovers.com or to create another one with circular name logic.  Loving a challenge…I opted for the later.  Here is my palate:

Image

I named it “King of Thrones” based on the color’s names:

grey dragon’s kitche

Kitch kitchen

Kitchen wall

walled in

filling in the greys

This project came together in phases.  I wanted to make something for my Aunt for her birthday, looking at the palate I created fit in with her birthstone, so the next logical step was to use this project for the challenge.  I started with a necklace:

Image

I had a beautiful citrine druzy.  This was the focal point of the pendant.  Even though it was a bead, I wanted to embroider around it.  In trying to figure out how to bead in the hole, I broke it off…figures…so I improvised.  After starring at it for an hour, all I could see was the rising sun.  Inspiration is born for the piece (in progress…).

 Image

Add some fringe and place with the necklace:Image

Yikes! Something isn’t right.  I couldn’t put my finger on it until I threw another project I was working on on my table.  Then it all came together:

Image

Leave me a comment, let me know what you think. Did I get it right, or should I have kept it with the citrine and turquoise necklace? 

Love it?  It and others are still available at my Etsy store.  Happy shopping.  Free shipping from now until 12/25/2013 with the code “BLOGHOP”.  


Check out all of the other great entries at Treasures Found.

~ by vet1999 on December 2, 2013.

23 Responses to “4th Annual Challenge of Color: Reveal”

  1. I love the turquoise rope and I love how it looks with your pendant. I also love the red rope and it looks fabulous as well. I guess I’m no help, lol. The pendant is awesome, though. I think it will look great with just about anything.

  2. Wow! You sure did get it right! Simply awesome! That second choice makes the whole thing STAND OUT! Beautiful work!

  3. Love your color palette, absolutely love the turquoise rope, and the pendant…..gorgeous. And I agree, the red rope suits best.

  4. Woah! That is an awesome focal you have created! love idea of the sun rising with little drops of sunshine raining down! I do love the turquoise chain you built, but I agree that the balance and color are better with the red. Save the pretty rope for another project! Thank you so much for playing along in the 4th annual Challenge of Color! I hope you had fun. Enjoy the day. Erin

  5. You got it right, this is the right necklace for the pendant – the colours weren’t matching.The citrine necklace is gorgeous too.

  6. Both are lovely, but I found the turquoise and citrine more striking. Fun project!

  7. This is such a beautiful palette and outstanding beadwork! Great Job!!! 🙂

  8. Very elegant netted necklace! Personally I liked your lovely colourful pendant with it, but then again it’s sometimes hard to tell from photos alone: when you see something IRL it can suddenly become apparent that the colours clash or the size/shape wrong etc. Guess I also like it because the necklace rope is a tad more slender and I thought that really framed the pendant without drawing focus away from it. Or maybe it’s the way you placed it on the rope. Anyway, trust your gut feeling because you’re the one seeing it IRL, from all angles and in all lights.

    • Thanks so much for the comment. The photo didn’t do justice on the colors (I am working on that). I think it was the size that was throwing me off. It was extremely heavy in the end though. The smaller rope may have been better for that.

  9. I like the turquoise rope. I like your flower focal, but the druzy piece in the middle seems to overshadow the rest of the design. But then again, if I were to see it in person, it might look different. But all of the colors work well together.

    • Thanks for the comment. I don’t disagree. Even in person, I wished that I had purchased a smaller druzy. Unfortunately I was fighting time..lol

  10. That’s a seriously amazing focal you’ve created! And the palette you created is a gorgeous combination of colours.

  11. I echo everyone else’s sentiments – you certainly got it right! This is a sensational design – I love the beaded rope and the focal is spot on! They are meant to be together. Just love, love, love this!

  12. Such intricate work! Great combination of colours, and you make them work so well.

Leave a Reply

 
