I Love Clay Blog Hop Fun

Lisa at A Grateful Artist – Pine Ridge Treasures hosted the “I Love Clay Blog Hop”.  I was so excited to get in on the tail end of this fun hop.  A few days after signing up, I received these wonderfully adorable clay beads from Lisa.

 Image

Then I spent the next weeks staring at them.  Funny thing about not picking out a piece is that inspiration doesn’t always spring into the mix.  Although I loved the focal, man I was stumped.  So I dug out my seed beads, and then it hit me.  I had these pink beads from a bracelet that I made for a friend a few years ago, and some blue beads I had for a holiday project.  And I was hooked.

 Image

I know, another bead stitching project…well, it didn’t start out that way, but I didn’t have much time to play with metal settings and making chains, so another beading project it was.  Wonderful part about beads, I can do it anywhere.  That is why I find it so much fun.  Like the crochet I used to do in college (and yes, in class…much to the chagrin of my classmates, although I did ask the professors first, and I was passing without problems.  Funny thing about vet students is that they can be very picky about their learning environments.)  I digress.  I can take a beading project to my chair and watch tv with my husband and continue to work.  Can’t do that with metal.

So here are the finished projects.  I did break apart the beads into 2 projects, with different feels.  This started off as a blog about the most fun pair of earrings I had made.  It turned out to then be one of the most frustrating pair of earrings I have made and I have a 20g sized hole in my finger to prove it.

 ImageImage

Image

Image

I really hope you enjoy these projects.  If so, they are available at my etsy store: katrinataylorjewelry.etsy.com.

Check out the wonderful other participants in this really cool Blog Hop.  Hope you have fun!  I know I have.

Your hostess:  Lisa Lodge, A Grateful Artist
Melissa Trudinger, Bead Recipes
Kathy Zeigler Lindemer, Bay Moon Design
Eleanor Burian Moore, The Charmed Life
Jo-Ann Woolverton, It’s a Beadiful Creation
Chris Eisenberg, Wanderware
Carolyn Lawson, Carolyns Creations
Bonnie Coursolle, Jasper’s Gems
Therese Frank, Therese’s Treasures
Christine Stonefield, Sweet Girl Design
Carolyn Lawson, Carolyn’s Creations
Mowse Doyle, Mowse Made This

Janine Lucas, Esfera Travel Blog
Karin Grosset Grange, Ginkgo et Coquelicot
Kelli Nelson, Zenith Jade Creations
Ann Schroeder, Bead Love
Jasvanti Patel, Jewelry by Jasvanti
Candida Castleberry, Sugar Spun Beadworks
Robin Reed, Artistry HCBD
Katrina Taylor, I Wanna Go Out

~ by vet1999 on December 7, 2013.

11 Responses to “I Love Clay Blog Hop Fun”

  1. You are a master with seed beads. I absolutely love love the chain you made with beads. The color combination is so pretty. And the way you bezelled the pendant, very clever. Love it. The earrings are very pretty as well.

  2. Nice necklace! I am always impressed with bead weaving because I can’t do it, and this looks very complicated! Different than the way I usually see clay, so it’s fun. The earrings are gorgeous! I love what you’ve done.

  3. This is really beautiful beadwork, I love that rope and the earrings are gorgeous!

  4. If beadweaving is what your muse leads you to … go for it. Great work!

  5. Hi Katrina,
    I love your necklace it is beautiful. I love the spiral rope. Is it Dutch spiral? I agree with you on the bead weaving it can be done just about anywhere and for me it is so relaxing for my to bead weave after a stressful day at work. The earrings are very pretty.
    Therese

  6. Katrina – I absolutely LOVE your necklace and earrings. I am in awe – I have never done bead weaving, and tiny beads kind of scare me. Thanks again for participating in the hop!

  7. Wow, your necklace is awesome. I just can’t get myself to do that kind of work so I’m glad that you enjoy it. Beautiful job on the earrings too. Love the wirework on them.

  8. The necklace is fantastic, I love the beautiful bead embroidery and the rope goes well with it.

  9. I am blown away by the necklace. It is gorgeous!

  10. Ooh! I would totally wear those earrings.

  11. Gorgeous – Your beadweaving is amazing!! I love your earrings – I’d wear them all the time!

Leave a Reply

 
